Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about our school’s governors and the work of the Governing Body.

The Governors play an active and supportive role in the life of the school. They bring a wide variety of talents encompassing many areas of business and professional life.

The governors’ role

  • Together with the headteacher they are responsible for making sure our schools provide good quality education.
  • They provide challenge and support to headteachers, drawing on their knowledge and experience.
  • They make decisions together on matters such as performance, targets, school policies and school development plans.
  • They monitor the impact of policies and oversee school budgets and staffing.
  • They report on school achievements and respond to inspection recommendations.
  • They hear appeals from pupils and staff and consider complaints.
  • They ask searching questions and respect the position of headteachers as professional leaders of schools.

Chair of Governors

Reverend Howard Robson - Safeguarding


Executive Headteacher

Simon Bainbridge


Head of School

Yvonne Skillern


Trust Appointed Governors

David Ambrose-Smith - Health and Safety

Esther Harris - SEN Representative


Staff Elected Governors

Jason Wing - Executive Principal LECA

Scott Gaskins - Head of School LECA


Parent Elected Governors

Lesley Dorrington - Attendance

Graeme Wigglesworth


Clerk to Governors

Karen Jarvis


© Copyright 2016–2020 Highfield Littleport Academy